Monday, May 29, 2017

Book Review : Winning Ace by Tracie Delaney


Winning Ace

by Tracie Delaney Winning Ace #1 
Publication Date: May 29, 2017 
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Serial

BUY NOW FOR ONLY 99c!

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2r6VRzD (#FREE with #KindleUnlimited)

SYNOPSIS:

When the opportunity arises for journalist Tally McKenzie to meet tennis ace Cash Gallagher, she grabs it without hesitation. Desperate for a killer story to advance her career, she’ll have to betray her idol and her own morals into the bargain if she is to succeed.

Renowned bad boy Cash wants one thing; to remain at the top of his game. He’s fought hard to get there, and he’s not about to lose his crown, especially over a woman.

When Cash divulges personal information, Tally seizes her chance and writes an explosive article. Incensed, Cash sets out to get his revenge. Except the darling of centre court gets more than he bargained for—a passionate affair with a woman he should detest.

But Cash is a man with secrets—secrets that could destroy his career. Dare he take the risk? Or is the cost too great, even for his perfect match.

goodreads-badge-add-38px

REVIEW

What a great debut novel!The first book in the Winning Ace series introduces us to Tally and Cash.Tally is a journalist and Cash is a famous tennis player who has a pretty secretive life and hates journalists(of course).
The book was really good with amazing chemistry between Tally and Cash!I really loved the way their relationship developed.It was a game of tug of war, but the connection between them was ever present!There are a lot of secrets that the characters have.There was a little angst, but it didn't stop em from enjoying the book.I honestly liked the drama and the suspense!Lol!

If this book and the ending was anything to go by I can't wait to read Losing Game!!

ABOUT TRACIE DELANEY

Tracie Delaney is the author of the Winning Ace trilogy. She loves nothing more than immersing herself in a good romance, although she sometimes, rather cheekily, makes her characters wait for their HEA.
When she isn’t writing or sitting around with her head stuck in a book, she can often be found watching The Walking Dead, Game of Thrones or any tennis match involving Roger Federer. Her greatest fear is running out of coffee.
Tracie studied accountancy, gaining her qualification in 2001. Her maths teacher would no doubt be stunned by this revelation considering Tracie could barely add two plus two at high school.
Tracie lives in the North West of England with her amazingly supportive husband. They both share a love of dogs, travel and wine.

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY



Book Review : White Hot by Ilona Andrews



The Hidden Legacy series continues as Nevada and Rogan navigate 
a world where magic is the norm . . . and their relationship burns hot.


WHITE HOT
Hidden Legacy #2
Ilona Andrews
Releasing May 30, 2017
Avon Books


The Hidden Legacy series by #1 New York Times bestselling author Ilona Andrews continues as Nevada and Rogan navigate a world where magic is the norm . . . and their relationship burns hot.

Nevada Baylor has a unique and secret skill—she knows when people are lying—and she's used that magic (along with plain, hard work) to keep her colorful and close-knit family's detective agency afloat. But her new case pits her against the shadowy forces that almost destroyed the city of Houston once before, bringing Nevada back into contact with Connor "Mad" Rogan.

Rogan is a billionaire Prime—the highest rank of magic user—and as unreadable as ever, despite Nevada's "talent." But there's no hiding the sparks between them. Now that the stakes are even higher, both professionally and personally, and their foes are unimaginably powerful, Rogan and Nevada will find that nothing burns like ice.


Start the Trilogy at the beginning


REVIEW

Infinite stars!Well, this book was that awesome!
In the UF genre, nothing can and ever will top my favorite Kate Daniels series.In the same way,Ilona Andrews are my favorite authors in the fantasy genre.So, is it any surprise that I love everything that they write?(You can't blame me, whatever they write is that awesome!)
I wont do this series a disservice by comparing it to Kate Daniels, because there is no way anything could match up, but the Legacy series is just as beautiful in its own way and has made it onto my UF favorites list!
If you haven't read this series yet, you are honestly missing out on a lot!Nevada Baylor is back again in White Hot and so is Rogan!And man does this guy make me swoon!He's the perfect mix of protective alpha and loyalty.And I love how Nevada handles him.She's totally kickass!Her family is so wonderful and she is damn lucky to have them!The interactions and the lengths that they were willing to go for each other!
The best part about Nevada is that she is independent, but not stupid.She doesn't rush headlong into situations without thinking logically.And she is amazing in the way she puts her family and those she loves first.But if there is a situation she might not be able to handle,she is ready to accept help.Cornelius was a great addition to this book and I loved how the story went!
We got to know so much more about Nevada's family,their origins and their magic, and man, the twists were so good!
The best part about this book is the writing and the worldbuilidng!As in any Ilona Andrews book it has the perfect mix of action,mystery,romance and steam, interspersed with much needed moments of humor.And that is a balance that is quite hard to achieve!I dont want to say anything more or give the plot away.But I really urge you to read this series as you'll definitely love it!

I'm so thankful that I was granted an ARC of this book!And I got approved for the next book Wildfire too!I read both Whit Hot and Wildfire back to back and now I don't know what to do with my life anymore! *cries in a corner waiting for the next book*

P.S. Can we change the covers for this series?They totally fail to convey the essence of the book. Atleast the cover for Wildfire is marginally better than the previous ones!

EXCERPT

“My wife is dead.” His voice shook with barely controlled emotion. His eyes glistened. “She’s my light. She found me in the darkest time of my life and she saw something in me . . . She believed I could be a better man. I didn’t deserve her or the happiness we had. She loved me, Nevada. She loved me so much, in spite of my faults, and I was the luckiest man alive because when I opened my eyes in the morning, I saw her next to me. She had integrity. She was kind and intelligent, and she tried her hardest to do the right thing so this world would be a better place for our child to grow up in. She didn’t deserve this. She deserved to be happy. She deserved a full and long life. Nobody had the right to rob her of it.”

His face contorted with raw pain and grief. I was trying so hard not to cry. “I love her determination. I love her spirit. I’m proud to have been her husband. And now she’s dead. Someone took this wonderful—this truly beautiful—human being and turned her into a corpse. I saw her on the morgue table. She’s just . . . cold and lifeless as if she never was. Everything is gone except for our daughter and my memories. I have to strive to be the man she thought I was. When my daughter grows up, she’ll ask me why her mother was murdered and I’ll have to answer her. I have to account for my actions. I want to tell her that I found those responsible and I made sure they wouldn’t hurt anyone else.”

He brushed moisture from his eyes with a furious swipe of his hand. “Nobody else will do this. Her family doesn’t have the means, my family doesn’t care, and her employer might have murdered her. There is only me. Will you help me? Please.”

He fell silent. He was sitting here asking for my help and I couldn’t throw him out of my office. I just couldn’t. I remembered when Mom sold our house to pay for Dad’s bills. I remembered when we mortgaged the business and kept it from him, because it would’ve killed him faster than any disease. If someone I loved was murdered, I would do the same thing Cornelius did. He had nowhere to turn. If I slammed the door in his face now, I wouldn’t be able to look my reflection in the eye.

I reached into the top drawer of my desk and took out the blue new-client folder. I opened it so it faced him, placed it on the table, and wrote $50,000 in the margins on the front. “This is my retainer. This stays with the agency no matter what happens. It’s nonnegotiable.”

I used my pen to circle the bottom number on the right side. “These are our rates. This job is likely to be high-risk, so the top rate right here will apply. As you can see, it’s a daily and not hourly rate. Depending on the situation, I may have to charge you hazard pay or additional expenses. The retainer acts like a deductible. Once the amount billed to you exceeds it, you will make additional payments in installments of $10,000. After we’re done here, you may want to go to the bank and withdraw at least $20,000 in cash. We may have to bribe people . . .”

“Thank you.”

“This is a bad idea. Please reconsider.”

He shook his head. “No.”

I walked him through the privacy policy and had him sign all of the waivers. “What happens once we find whoever is responsible?”

“I’ll take care of things from there.”

“Meaning you’ll kill your wife’s murderer.”

“It’s the way Houses handle things,” Cornelius said.

“Well, I’m not a House. I’m a person with a family, and I respect and try to obey the laws of this country. I won’t hesitate to defend you or myself, but I won’t condone murder.”

“Understood,” Cornelius said. “How do we start?”

“I need to be able to speak to Matthias Forsberg. I need face-to-face time so I can ask him some questions. I can make the necessary calls tomorrow, but he’ll refuse to see me.”

“You don’t have the social status and you work for his competitor.” Cornelius nodded. “Matthias is an active participant in the Assembly. He never misses a session. Tomorrow happens to be December 15th. The session starts at 9:00 a.m.”

“I don’t have admission to the Assembly.” The Assembly was an unofficial executive body that governed the magic users at state and national levels. The Texas State Assembly met in Houston. A family had to have at least two Prime-caliber magic users in three generations to be considered a House and each House had a single seat. Technically the Assembly had no power within the US government, but, practically, when the Houses spoke in one collective voice, both Congress and the White House listened.

“A family name has to be good for something, right?”

Cornelius smiled. It never reached his eyes. They stayed bitter and haunted. “As a Significant and a scion of a House, I’m free to attend the Assembly and bring a companion of my choice. I intend to be an active participant in this investigation, Ms. Baylor.”

“Call me Nevada,” I told him. “Good. Then we’ll meet here tomorrow at seven.”

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

“Ilona Andrews" is the pseudonym for a husband-and-wife writing team. Ilona is a native-born Russian and Gordon is a former communications sergeant in the U.S. Army. Contrary to popular belief, Gordon was never an intelligence officer with a license to kill, and Ilona was never the mysterious Russian spy who seduced him. They met in college, in English Composition 101, where Ilona got a better grade. (Gordon is still sore about that.) They have co-authored two New York Times and USA Today bestselling series—the urban fantasy of Kate Daniels and the romantic urban fantasy of The Edge—and are working on the next volumes for both. They live in Texas with their two children and many dogs and cats.


GIVEAWAY

Friday, May 26, 2017

Book Review For Black Dawn


Well first, let me just say that Mallory McCartney is a fantastic writer, and can we just take a minute before the review to admire the cover? It's so beautiful.

When I was looking for something to read I had saw black dawn on kindle and I had decided to buy it, there was something about this book that intrigued me, maybe it was the cover, or the back blurb of the book, but either way right from the beginning this book had me hooked.

It has been a long time since i had been hooked on any book, and this was a fresh work of art.

Mallory's writing is fantastic and is well worth the read, if you like the mortal instrument series, or any fantasy genera that has to do with saving the world, you'll love this book.

Once I had started reading this book I could imagine every detail the author was putting on the page.

The book itself is based on Black Dawn (The actual city in the book) and a place called the Acadamy where the main characters, Brokk, Emory and Nyx and Memphis all live/lived, its a school for the powerful, but one named Adair is trying to take over the world. Emory was put on a place called earth six years go thank's to Brokk and Memphis for putting her in a place called the past, now it is their job to get her back to help protect the city and her as well.

I highly recomend this book for anyone who loves fantasy, love, and action.

Oh, the feels I have for Brokk.

5 out of 5 stars!

Available on: All E. Readers and Paperback. 



Thursday, May 25, 2017

Book Review and Giveaway : Mistaken Identity by M.C.Jackson


Mistaken Identity

by M.C. Jackson 

Publication Date: May 16, 2017 

Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Suspense


Read for FREE in Kindle Unlimited: Amazon

The last time I saw my sister was the day before she vanished from my life. I’ve spent the last five years searching for her, clinging to the hope that one day I will find out what happened to her, but every lead has ended up at a dead end. Until now. He took me because he thinks I’m Her. My instinct is to run. I want to fight my way out of there, but I can’t. This man is my only connection to my sister. I’ll do whatever it takes to uncover the truth. Even if it means falling right into the arms of a psychopath.


Review

The blurb for this book had piqued my interest and I was really excited to read this one!
Girl kidnapped and pretending to be her missing twin-tell me this doesn't interest you!
The book started off well and the mystery had me wondering things along with Lena.We start off knowing almost nothing like she does and the author feeds us the info bit by bit, through flashbacks and discoveries.
Halfway through the book I kinda guessed the twist that was to come and I think that sorta ruined the experience for me :P.
The terrible circumstances and the psyche of the heroine kinda reminded me of a book that I'd read few years back named Unravel by Calia Read.
In Mistaken Identity, I think I preferred Lena over Jake.She was strong,clearheaded and clever.She didn't let the past or her experiences stop her.I loved how loyal Jake was to her and how much he was willing to do for her.The way their relationship slowly developed along with the diary entry stories had me feeling really happy for them.The only problem with Jake was that sometimes he was too hasty in his decisions.But that was completely realistic as he was under a lot of stress and trouble.
I would have loved to see even more supporting characters with a lot more detailing.The ending was really good with most of the threads tied up neatly.After everything that Lena and Jake have been through I think they deserved that.
I would suggest this book to anyone who wants a good romantic suspense which will keep you on the edge of your seat till the end, with unexpected twists!

About M.C. Jackson

M.C Jackson is a wife, mother, reader and author. Her debut release, Mistaken Identity is a psychological romantic suspense full of twists that you won't see coming. When she's not writing or reading, you'll find her spending time with her husband and kids. [one_half]

Giveaway

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Book Review: Fallen Crest Forever by Tijan


FALLEN CREST FOREVER
by Tijan


Blurb

Mason Kade is the dream.
He is the promise.
He’s offering what so many would fantasize about, and it’s not that I don’t want it/him/us.
It’s the opposite.
There might be ghosts haunting me, but this man who's my soulmate is asking me for forever.
How can I say no to someone who already gave me my happily ever after?

The last full-length novel for the Fallen Crest Series!

💭 My Thoughts 💭
💋 💋 💋 💋 💋 💋 
6 forever kissws

6 FOREVER stars. Top read of 2017.

Oh my gosh.  Im not sure what to say.  My emotions are high and everywhere,  and since chapter 43 tears have been falling down my smiling face.  I'm sad,  but happy. 

Fallen Crest Forever was EPIC.  I laughed,  I cried,  I went OMG,  I did it all.  I can't believe this is the end.  This series is amazing,  and this book was even more amazing.  Tijan has gone and created one heck of a book,  and I have no words to explain how I feel.  

Even though this series is over,  Sam,  Mason,  Logan, Taylor,  Nate,  Heather,  all of the characters even down to Becky and Adam will forever be some of my favorites. 

I'm crying because the series is over,  but also because of the way it ended.  Every moment of this book was amazing.  

This review can never do this book justice.  You will just have to read it yourself.  




Monday, May 22, 2017

EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal + Giveaway: Unsteady by Jillian Anselmi


COVER Reveal!

Look at this gorgeous cover.  Be sure to enter the giveaway on Facebook 💋 


UNSTEADY 
by Jillian Anselmi

Releasing June 5, 2017


Cover Designed by Marisa Rose Shor at Cover Me Darling 

 Photo by Regina Wamba at Mae I Design 


Add to Your TBR


Pre-Order Today

AMAZON

Blurb

Blurb for Unsteady...

The actions from the past are still dwelling, hovering on the surface, waiting to strike.

Broken. Traumatized. Consumed.

Delani Delvecchio has danced with the devil, battled the evil in the drug world, and came out swinging. But her victory is short lived.

She’s slipping—slipping from reality and fearing everything around her.
Nightmares are trying to control her mind. The foundation of her emotions is rocky and uncertain, forcing her to pull more into herself than she ever has before.

Loyal. Determined. Faithful.

Brody Russell saved Delani from hell, only to be faced with a hell of his own.

Delani isn’t healing, and try as he might to bring his sassy, bright-eyed girl back to the surface, nothing seems to be working. He’s struggling - struggling to hold her in his grasp while facing a trial determined to test every ounce of control he has.

Emotions run high, boundaries are pushed, and the odds stacked against them become a race against time.

They thought the storm was over, but they had only reached the eye, and things are about to get Unsteady.

About the Author


Jillian Anselmi resides on Long Island, (not in Long Island), with her husband and teenage daughter. She studied pharmacy, but decided it wasn't the right fit for her and instead pursued a degree in chemistry. After receiving her masters in education she pursued a career in teaching, but there was always something missing. As a young girl she read an incredible amount of books, reading over a hundred during the summer of her third grade year. After that she would write poetry or dabble in short stories. Now, she writes romantic fiction, with some small amount of truth hiding behind her words. If you want to make her happy, surprise her with dark chocolate, a Starbucks Caramel Macchiato, or a good Sauvignon Blanc.

Links:








Giveaeay

Enter to win an ARC of UNSTEADY! 

Friday, May 19, 2017

Release Blitz + Review: Fighting for Jax by Alexandria Bishop



Fighting for Jax
(Marlowe #4)  
by Alexandria Bishop

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance
Release Date: May 19, 2017


Erin Morris made a decision that would forever change her life and those in it. With fierce determination and hard work, she has found success but never forgotten where she came from and the boy she left behind. Four years later, Erin has an opportunity to right the wrongs of her past and help the one person she has always loved. 
Jackson “Jax” Hartley embodies everything expected of his bad-boy rocker persona. With success and popularity comes the ability to indulge in everything offered him - money, women, booze, and drugs. When he’s given an ultimatum by his bandmates to clean up his act or lose the career he’s dreamed of, Jax agrees to accept help from the one person who has the ability to break him. Again. 
When Erin and Jax return to her family’s ranch in Texas they’re forced to face the ghosts of their past and decide if the time apart has changed the love they once shared. They must answer a question that neither is prepared to face – Can your first love remain your true love? 
Together they are given a second chance. 
At life.
At love.
At everything.




🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 

Fighting for Jax by Alexandria Bishop is the best book of the series.  It was funny,  it was sweet,  and it became all in all a heartwarming book.  It was everything I was expecting and more.  

I loved having a front row seat to Erin and Jax's story.  At times it was heartbreaking,  but it turned into something so beautiful.  

I definitely loved every word,  and very stoked to see what Ms Bishop has coming next.  











Born in a small southeastern island in Alaska, Alexandria moved to southern Oregon early on in her life. Where she still resides with her young daughter, husband, and fur baby.
She's insanely obsessed with fashion and used to dream of becoming a fashion designer creating new outfits for her Barbie's with her childhood best friend. For now she's loving writing and fulfilling her fashion addiction with shopping.
Along with fashion, Alexandria is a big lover of music. She's always listening to something while writing and creates a playlist to go along with each book she writes. She's always on the hunt for new music and loves getting suggestions from her readers.
Alexandria spends way too much time on social media and would love for you to say hi!


HOSTED BY: